Poem from ‘We ask why they are hungry’ from Christian Aid and CAFOD

 

I WAS HUNGRY

And you fed your animals with my food

Calves I Bion Grillart via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

And your multinationals planted your winter tomatoes on our best land

Cherry Tomatoes Todd Heft via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

And you wouldn’t give up your steak from South America

Day 175/366: The Wagyu New York Strip Steak. Li Tsin Soon via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

But they grew coffee for you where corn might grow for my daily meal

EspressoCreative Commons License Thomas via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

But you turned our sugar cane and manioc* into fuel for your cars

MSO Amazon Colourstream Reece Garside | Photography via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

But the waste from your factories is poisoning the fishing grounds of the earth

Kurbagalidere - IV Esin via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

But with your money you bought up my food

2017_56Creative Commons License Chilanga Cement via Compfight

I WAS HUNGRY

While my land grows exotic fruit for your table

Exotic Fruits Steven Feather via Compfight

*Another name for manioc is cassava. This a root vegetable which can be used to make flour

Poem from ‘We ask why they are hungry’ from Christian Aid and CAFOD

Lesson plan for Senior Classes here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *